DIY: Yellow Cake Mix

yellow-cake-mix-instant-recipe

I am weird…then again, living in this world and with this big of a family, who wouldn’t be? Anyways, I have this thing for doing everything homemade. I rarely use cake mixes, although I am always impressed with the flavor when I do. Somehow I still feel a twang of guilt or something when I use them. Another real problem is that our family usually shops at Sam’s Club or Gordon Food Services, which only sell huge boxes. Finally, to top off my problems, all over the internet there are these amazing recipes, but they all require cake mixes! Then it hit me. Why not make it yourself, Kloe? So that is exactly what I did! I found this lovely little recipe off of the Brown Eyed Baker. She has an amazing site, so go check it out!

The hardest part of this recipe is getting the cold butter to form a mix, but juts keep at it and it will come out beautifully!

yellow-cake-recipe-mix

Homemade Yellow Cake Mix:

Ingredients:

2 cups granulated sugar
1½ cups all-purpose flour
1½ cups cake flour
½ cup nonfat dry milk powder
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, cut in ½-inch cubes and cold
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions:

1. In the bowl of a food processor, combine the sugar, both flours, milk powder, baking powder and salt. Process for 15 seconds. Add the pieces of butter and lightly toss with a fork so they are coated with the flour mixture. Sprinkle the vanilla over the top. Pulse until the mixture is fine and crumbly, about 10 one-second pulses. Use immediately or store in an airtight bag or container in the freezer for up to 2 months.

Note: For instructions on how to make an actual cake with this mix, please visit Mel’s Kitchen Café.

 

Enjoy! Make some of those goodies with this mix!

~Kloe ♥♪

 

 

 

 

20 responses to “DIY: Yellow Cake Mix

  1. I’ve made this one, too, Kloe and feel EXACTLY as you do in wanting to make everything from scratch. It’s not weird. (unless I am, too, haha) I admire your dedication to DIY. I know I like it because it’s more fun and rewarding. Stuff tastes better.

  2. I’m with you – I make pretty much everything from scratch, especially baked goods! They are just so much better and I feel better knowing exactly what went into them! Love this DIY cake mix – I need to give it a try!

  3. What a great idea, Kloe! Sometimes I just love the simplicity of packaged cake mixes, though I’d love to try out a homemade alternative. This one sounds great! 🙂

  4. What a great idea – apparently there is a large section of America that think packet Brownies are better than homemade! Is this true??

    • Thanks, Carrie! Hmm, I don’t know. I have heard that too. I think it probably split. About half of my family prefers the packaged and the other half homemade. It’s interesting isn’t it?

      Have a lovely day!
      -Kloe ♥

    • Haha! I know Natalie, I love the flavor of the boxed mix too, but I always feel guilty because I am not making it myself. I was to discover that this homemade mix had a similar (but even better) flavor, so you can enjoy yourself with this one!

  5. This looks great Kloe. I’m with you and rather have everything homemade since I feel better about the ingredients 🙂 Love this DIY cake mix!

Leave a Reply

