Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

banana-bread-recipe

My, has it already been a week since I posted? This week has been crazy busy! Our family is moving out-of-state and we have been getting our house ready for selling. At last, (Yet way too soon!) the house is up for sale. It took a lot of work to get a house filled with 12 people ready to show! Just sayin’, it was a lot of long nights…

banana-chocolate-chip-bread

Anyways, on a happier note, this banana bread is delightful! I got the recipe from Radhika, who is a talented cook and a wonderful person. Please visit her blog: Sugar n’ Spice. Sometimes banana bread can be dry, but I found this recipe nice and moist! I also followed Radhika’s advice and covered my loaves with foil 25 minutes into baking so they wouldn’t be too brown. I really enjoyed this recipe! All this talk of banana bread makes me want to go bake another loaf, as this one didn’t last long! I might try my personal recipe this time….So many recipe for such a simple loaf! It’s great isn’t it????

banana-chocolate-chip-homemade-recipe

Original Recipe here:

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Ingredients:

  • Flour, 2 cups
  • Baking Powder, 1 teaspoon
  • Salt, 1 teaspoon
  • Softened Butter, 1/3 cup
  • White Granulated Sugar, 1/2 cup
  • Eggs, 2 (at room temp.)
  • Overripe Bananas, 3, mashed into a paste
  • Buttermilk, 2 tablespoons (you can substitute it with yogurt)
  • Vanilla essence, 1 teaspoon
  • Chocolate Chips, 3/4 cup (plus extra to sprinkle on top)

Directions:

In a bowl, sift flour, salt and baking powder and keep aside.

In a separate bowl whisk together butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add in the eggs and whisk gently for a minute. Please make sure the eggs are at room temperature. Cold eggs won’t mix properly. Add in the mashed bananas, buttermilk and vanilla essence.

Now add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients little by little until everything is properly mixed and a thick batter is formed. Do not over mix the batter or your bread will turn tough and rubbery. Fold in the chocolate chips until evenly distributed.

Preheat the oven to 355 degrees.

Transfer to greased loaf tin (9×5 inches) and bake for 45-50 minutes at 355 degrees or until a skewer comes out clean. I normally take out the banana bread and cover it loosely with foil paper after 20 minutes and then continue baking to avoid heavy browning on top. For best results keep checking your bread every 5 minutes by inserting a skewer after 40 minutes. Stop baking once the skewer comes out clean with a little chocolate and crumbs.

Transfer bread and cut into pieces once it has cooled down a bit. Serve for breakfast or with evening tea!

banana-bread-chocolate-chip-recipe

 

Enjoy!!

-Kloé

 

More recipes from Kloe’s Kitchen tagged in chocolate chip, bread, and breakfast!

Bakery Style Chocolate Chip Muffins

bakery-style-chocolate-chip-muffins

Cinnamon Roll Quick Bread

cinnamon-roll-quick-bread

Instant Oatmeal

instant-oatmeal-recipe

Honey Whole Wheat Bread

honey-whole-wheat-bread

 

44 responses to “Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #14 and Fiesta Friday Challenge #1 | The Novice Gardener·

  2. nom nom nom! Good luck with the move–exciting times. Hope your new house has a good kitchen for you 🙂

  3. Great minds think alike! My Fiesta Friday post for this week (coming Sunday) is chocolate chip banana bread (gluten free, dairy free, and egg free of course!). Your banana bread looks delicious 🙂 Hope the house sells quickly!

  4. Mmmm this looks perfect Kloe! Love seeing all those chocolate chips in the banana bread. I can always have a slice of this for breakfast. Good luck with the move!

  5. Good luck with the move, like Angie, I’m impressed you still found time and energy to bake! Such a delicious looking loaf too. Thanks for sharing this with Fiesta Friday!

  6. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread (GF + Vegan) | GF Life 24/7·

  7. Hi, Kloe! I love love banana bread and agree with you on the moist breads! This is absolutely perfect with coffee or tea. Good luck with the move and can’t wait to read your stories about the new house. 🙂

  8. I love the sound of banana and chocolate together! Your banana bread looks great, I would love to have a slice 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  9. That’s a lot of people to move! I don’t envy you having to organise that.

    But this loaf should go some way to smoothing peoples tempers, if they ever get frayed. There’s something deliciously reassuring about bananas and chocolate together. Having said that, I still haven’t used them in the same recipe. And I must make and post my banana cake recipe I developed last summer. Oops, just as well I’m not there helping you move. I’d be a hindrance!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by, Johnny! Yes, it is quite difficult moving 12 people. Doing it in an organized way is almost impossible, yet we are doing it!

      I agree! Chocolate and banana calms anyone! (That is anyone who likes banana, everyone likes chocolate. :)) Looking forward to your banana cake recipe! -Kloe

  10. Banana bread is such a comfort food – especially with chocolate chips! This recipe looks delicious, Kloe (and best of luck with the move!)

  11. The classic banana bread with chocolate chips. Absolutely a winner, Kloe. Good luck with the move. Please do share about your new house in your future posts. 🙂

  12. Yum Kloe, chocolate chip banana bread sounds delicious! I love banana bread, and chocolate will just raise it to the next level! Hope everything goes well with your moving! Sounds adventurous and fun! Where to (if you don’t mind sharing)?
    Are you going to write down about it in a journal? I love writing down big events in my life so that I remember them later… 🙂

    Have a great week!
    Becky

    • Thanks for the sweet comment! 🙂 Becky is a fun nick-name! We are moving to Arkansas. I know, it is quite a change, but I suppose it is a but of an adventure. Journal? Well, I have tried to keep one a few times. I am more of a scrapbook person. I love taking photos and decorating pages with memories! Do you scrapbook?

      -Kloe

  13. I have no clue how I missed this Kloe!! My wordpress is playing funny tricks on me.
    I’m so glad you loved my recipe.. Thanks for baking and sharing it other! Your banana bread looks fantastic 🙂 and thank you for such a lovely introduction. Are you on Instagram and FB btw? I’d love to
    Share this on my Instagram and FB. Let me know your ids so I can tag you 🙂

    • Haha! I am glad you found the post. 😉 Your recipe was a hit here for sure. I am not on FB or Instagram, just wordpress. I don’t mind you sharing it though. Could you just link to my site maybe instead of tagging? Have a lovely day Radhika!

Leave a Reply

