Sour Cream Coffee Cake Muffins

103_6905

Ladies and gentlemen, spring is coming to Northwest Arkansas! We had a 78 degree day this week and it will be in the 70’s and 80’s. I might miss the north some days, but I simply have to say that I love this weather! One of my friends even has a tan already. Crazy!

moist-sour-cream-muffins (2)

One afternoon this week I was outside walking with my sister in the sunshine, and decided  we needed a “Happy” breakfast. The two of us immediately agreed on muffins. Unfortunately, I am a very picky muffin person. You might have noticed that I only have a few muffins on my site and it is solely for that reason. I like my muffins moist and  well risen (or shall as say, “Puffy”). I wanted to make banana muffins or applesauce muffins because the fruit adds the extra moist kick I like, but we did not have either of those ingredients, so I went for the next best moist ingredient: sour cream. Let me tell you, these are everything I wanted and so much more!! These sour cream coffee cake muffins are simply lovely. 🙂  They are slightly gooey, moist, puffy, and full of flavor!

recipe-sour-cream-muffin

If I could convince you to go into your kitchen and whip these up for tomorrow morning, I would! You should absolutely go ahead and do it.

moist-sour-cream-muffin-recipe

I found the recipe for these delights off of the blog A Family Feast. Be sure to check out their enchanting site. The original recipe for sour cream coffee cake muffins can be seen here.

~♥~ SOUR CREAM COFFEE CAKE MUFFINS  ~♥~

Ingredients:
For the streusel
  • ½ cup all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into ½ inch pieces
For the batter
  • 2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ⅓ cup unsalted butter, softened to room temperature
  • ⅓ cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a muffin tin with paper liners and set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, add the dry streusel ingredients (flour, sugar and cinnamon) and stir with a whisk to combine. Using a fork or a pastry cutter, add the butter pieces and work into the dry mixture until well incorporated. Set aside.
  3. To make the batter, in another medium bowl, add the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt and whisk together. Set aside.
  4. In the bowl of stand mixer, beat together softened butter, oil, and sugar and mix well. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each egg is added.
  5. Keeping the mixer on a low speed, slowly add in the sour cream and vanilla and finally the flour mixture and mix until fully combined, but being careful not to over mix the batter. (Once you’ve turned off the mixer, using a spatula, give the mixture one additional stir by hand just to make sure that all of the wet ingredients from the bottom are completely mixed into the flour mixture.)
  6. Spoon a heaping tablespoon of batter into each prepared muffin cup. Then sprinkle some of the streusel mixture on top of the batter. Divide the remaining batter into the muffin cups (spoon on top of the streusel layer) and then divide the remaining streusel over each muffin, sprinkling it over the batter.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the muffin comes out clean.
  8. Remove the pan from the oven and remove each muffin to a wire rack to cool completely.

I hope you enjoy these as much as my family did!

~Kloë ♥

 

 

 

19 responses to “Sour Cream Coffee Cake Muffins

  1. I am a big muffin lover and those sour cream muffins look fabulous, Kloe! I had a baking day yesterday as we are having three types of company over this week. I made pumpkin muffins with and without gluten (just substitute rice flour and make sure you use muffin cups for the gluten-free ones). I also made dark chocolate sea salt cookies (made with wheat flour) and candy cane chocolate chip cookies (as we have been having Christmas weather this week in Michigan!). I also made snickerdoodles cookies but Josh just ate the last of those! Lemon chicken and BBQ pork made great guest meals as your dad knows as he fed us those two menu items when we came to visit and they were delicious!

  2. Hi, Kloe. It’s been a while. I hope you are well settled in Arkansas. Beautiful weather you’ve had. It’s been raining here in Virginia. I’m not complaining since our yard, flowers, and trees need it.
    These muffins looks so moist and delicious! Definitely great for breakfast. I wish you well. ❤

      • Wow! Congratulations Kloe. That’s great. Hello college days. 🙂
        The flowers in our yard started blooming about a week or two ago, but they’re in full bloom these past few days; which reminds me to take pictures of the roses tomorrow. Enjoy the rest of the week, Kloe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

