The Best Breadsticks:45 Minute Recipe

easy-45-breadsticksWell folks, it is November 1, and in Northwest Arkansas it is 79 degrees. I started the day off in my fall attire and quickly pulled out the summer clothes half way through the day. I suppose I will have to console myself with fall foods and thoughts. I am thinking cinnamon rolls, something pumpkin, and hot drinks to sip strictly while I am inside…we can make it whatever season we want in the kitchen, right? That is the beauty of baking!

easy-45-minutes-breadstick-recipe

Anyways, as promised, here is the breadstick recipe my family and I were raving about the last few weeks. I made these three times in one week’s timing! My family adored how soft, moist, and easy-to-pull-apart these were. I whipped them up to go with our spaghetti one night, and then again to go with some soup. I am also dying to try them with our homemade pizza recipe. You seriously have to try this recipe. It is everything you want in a breadstick, without all the hard work you don’t want. #coulditgetbetter

Simply try it! You will not regret it. I totally promise!

Original recipe from Amy’s Cooking Adventures. Visit her wonderful blog for more like it!

Super Soft 45 Minute Breadsticks

Slightly Adapted from Jamie Cooks It Up

♥1 ½ cups very warm water (about 115 degrees F)

♥2 tbsp sugar

♥1 tbsp active dry yeast

♥½ tsp salt

♥2 tbsp, heaping, vital wheat gluten

♥3 ½ – 4 cups all purpose flour

♥¼ cup salt butter, melted

♥2-4 tbsp grated parmesan cheese

♥Garlic powder

♥Dried basil

♥Dried oregano

♥Dried marjoram

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees F.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, whisk together the water, sugar, and yeast.  Let the mixture rest for 5 minutes or until foamy.

Add the salt, gluten, and flour (1 cup at a time).  Mix on low, switching to the dough hook as the mixture becomes thick.  Mix on low for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, pour half of the melted butter onto a large (rimmed) jelly roll pan and spread evenly with the pastry brush.

Place the kneaded dough onto the pan and allow to rest for 3-5 minutes.

Use your fingers to push the dough to the edges of the pan.  Pour the remaining butter over the dough and spread evenly over the surface.  Sprinkle the garlic, herbs, and parmesan over the dough and use a pizza cutter to slice the dough into 24 strips.

Place the tray into the preheated oven for 10 minutes, then turn the heat to 350 degrees F and bake for 12-20 minutes (depending upon how fast your oven preheats).

Once the breadsticks are lightly browned, remove them from the oven and tear along the perforations to serve.

Makes 24 breadsticks

Enjoy!

~kloë

 

 

9 responses to “The Best Breadsticks:45 Minute Recipe

  1. Wow! These breadsticks indeed look perfect. Love homemade breads are the best, and flavor bursting breadsticks are speaking to me. Lovely share.

  2. Wow! These breadsticks indeed look perfect. Love homemade breads are the best, and flavor bursting breadsticks are speaking to me. Lovely share.

Leave a comment